jump to navigation

Rafael Nadal: The King of Clay tennis June 11, 2007

Posted by Null in Sports.

Once again Rafael Nadal proves the world that he is the king of clay court tennis. The spaniard won the French Open (Roland Garros) for three consecutive years (2005, 2006 and 2007) which makes him the specialist for the French title. Still undefeated in the French Open, Nadal embarassed Roger Federer with 6-3, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4 in the final.

Nadal and Federer French Open 2007

As for Roger Federer, it is frustrating for him because he has once again failed to make a career grand slam. Federer however, said that he will be back and look forward to win the next year’s French open. Federer is undoubtly the world’s best player for quite a long time and is still the best, but it is unfortunate for him not to be a part of the elite club which includes Fred Perry (1933-34-35), Don Budge (1937-38), Rod Laver (1960-61-62), Roy Emerson (1961-63-64), and Andre Agassi (1992-94-95-99). These five gentlemen have won career grand slams and are part of the tennis history.



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: